MTBMA honors major contributors and supporters of the Maryland transportation construction industry at the Annual Membership Meeting and Awards Banquet on the evening of December 6, 2018. 

James Russ, MTBMA’s President from 1999-2018, was inducted into the Hall of Leadership which was presented by his long-time friend, colleague, and even competitor, Bill Childs of Chaney Enterprises. 

MTBMA wishes Jim well in his retirement and thanks him for his lifelong service, passion, and dedication to the industry as a whole.

MTBMA’s chairman for 2018, Pete Placke of Gray & Son, Inc., welcomed Chris Kaminski of York Building Products as the 2019 Chairman for the association. 

Pete was gifted with a pair of custom MTBMA cornhole boards which lists the 2018 Executive Committee. 




Keith Ronald was recognized for his service as MTBMA’s longtime standing attorney. We wish him well as he transitions into retirement.






Shelly Baquol was recognized and honored for her 20 years of service to the association. Shelly joined the Maryland Highway Contractors Association staff in 1999 at which time the association was under the direction of Robert Latham as Executive Director. During her tenure with MHCA/MTBMA as the Director of Member Services she served on the MdQI Sub-Conference Planning Committee, the MdQI Steering Committee, the MTBMA Safety Committee, and the Strategic Planning Committee. She also aided in the success of the Maryland State Highway Administrations’ 100th Anniversary, MHCA’s 80th Anniversary and the MdQI Conference’s 25th Anniversary planning and celebrations. Shelly focused on the planning, budgeting and the execution of meetings, events, MTBMA Membership Directory and the MD Infrastructure Magazine for the association. She will be missed and we wish her well in her retirement.

Cheers to all of you and thank you for all you have done for the association and industry combined!


2018 Annual Membership Meeting & Hall of Leadership Awards